Getting the Visible Bounds of a Node

Today I set out to optimize a custom text node I have (for code editing) to only create nodes for lines of text that are visible – much like ListView only create cell nodes for visible items.

So the crux of this is that I needed a method similar to Swing’s JComponent.getVisibleRect() to tell me the visible bounds for my text node, which is usually in a ScrollPane. It seems there is currently no Node method for this and I couldn’t find previous work online, so I thought I would post my solution.

Here is a method that was sufficient for my purposes – it returns the visible bounds for a node based on the first ancestor clip (which could be from a ScrollPane, SplitPane or any Parent that clips its children):

/**
 * Returns the visible bounds for a node based on first ancestor clip
 * (or null if no clipping found).
 */
public static Bounds getVisibleBounds(Node aNode)
{
    // If node not visible, return empty bounds
    if(!aNode.isVisible()) return new BoundingBox(0,0,-1,-1);
    
    // If node has clip, return clip bounds in node coords
    if(aNode.getClip()!=null) return aNode.getClip().getBoundsInParent();
    
    // If node has parent, get parent visible bounds in node coords
    Bounds bounds = aNode.getParent()!=null? getVisibleBounds(aNode.getParent()) : null;
    if(bounds!=null && !bounds.isEmpty()) bounds = aNode.parentToLocal(bounds);
    return bounds;
}

I also wrote a version called getVisibleBoundsScene(node) which intersects the combined clips of every ancestor node all the way up to the scene. This version was only slightly more complicated, but it turned out to be overkill. In fact, if you have animations where panels are sliding in and out, of Parent containers, using the cumulative intersection of visible bounds can significantly slow things down.

So after I had my VisibleBounds solution, I had one more problem: if I only add child nodes for the visible bounds, I also need to rebuild when those visible bounds change. I achieved this by listening for bounds changes in ancestors up to the clip, a list that is updated every time the node is rebuilt. Below is the code I used for that.

/**
 * Sets listeners for visible bounds.
 */
void setVisibleBoundsListeners()
{
    // Get list of ancestors up to first clip (just return if same as last time)
    List pars = new ArrayList();
    for(Node p=this; p!=null && p.getClip()==null; p=p.getParent()) pars.add(p);
    if(pars.equals(_pars)) return;
    
    // Stop listening to old ancestors, start listening to new
    for(Node par : _pars) par.boundsInParentProperty().removeListener(_bcl);
    _pars = pars;
    for(Node par : _pars) par.boundsInParentProperty().addListener(_bcl);
}

// Listeners
List  _pars = new ArrayList();
ChangeListener _bcl = new ChangeListener() {
    public void changed(ObservableValue<? extends Bounds> observable, Bounds oldValue, Bounds newValue) {
        resetChildNodes(); }}; 
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

